Posted by: amabroad | November 29, 2011

Barcelona!

Last weekend, I went to Barcelona. Barcelona is incredible. The city has a unique blend of history and modernization. I spent two ten hour days walking around and I still don’t think that I saw everything. I flew to Barcelona on Thursday, which was Thanksgiving! Since I was not at home to celebrate, I went to an Argentina and Japanese buffet to indulge and have a pretend Thanksgiving dinner. Instead of turkey and stuffing, I ate sushi. It was a weird feeling to not spend Thanksgiving with my family.

On Friday I went to see La Sagrada Familia. Architect Antonio Gaudi designed the building to be a Catholic church. Every day is sets the record for the longest amount of time it takes a building to be constructed. Construction began in 1882 and it still is not finished! One of the entrances hasn’t even begun being built. La Sagrada Familia is massive. Upon completion it will have three entrances, each with a particular style of architecture. The first arch is about the birth of Jesus, the second is about the crucifixion, and the last is dedicated for the twelve sufferings of men. The Pope came a few years ago and blessed the church in front of the third entrance. When constructed is completed, La Sagrada Familia will be able to hold twelve thousand people.

La Sagrada Familia is set to be completed in 2026. But everyone I talked to seriously doubt that date. I more realistic date is 2050. Gaudi realized what a huge ordeal construction would be. He knew that he would not live to see it fully built. Gaudi spent the last years of his life making models for future builders.

Hasta luego,

A.

Leave a Reply

Categories

