Posted by: amabroad | November 22, 2011

I have less than one month left.

I’ve been in Spain for two months, so I have had plenty of time to reflect. Here are some things that I miss about America:

–          Dunkin’ Doughnuts

I have come across two Dunkin’ Doughnuts during my time here, and neither of them carries bagels! A Dunkin’ without bagels?! That is unimaginable in the United States. I also miss hot chocolate. Hot chocolate is completely different here. It’s like drinking melted chocolate, it is super dark and thick. But it isn’t very sweet. I’ve never fully appreciated hot chocolate back home until now.

–          Driving

Man do I miss my car. I don’t mind waking everywhere here, but I miss being able to hop in my car and go anywhere I want.

–          Breakfast

I’m not really a big breakfast type of person. But after two months of eating two pieces of toast and drinking a cup of orange juice for breakfast, I am craving chocolate chip pancakes, eggs, syrup, waffles, home fries, and fruit salad. I can’t wait to go back to America, the land of big breakfast.

–          Water fountains

Water fountains are located everywhere in the U.S., at school, in the mall, in stores, at parks, etc. I have yet to see a water fountain here. They aren’t around because water is expensive. Water isn’t free at restaurants either. Whenever I travel, I make sure to always have a water bottle on hand.

–          Ovaltine 

 I drink ovaltine at least once day back home. I have not had ovaltine in two months because it’s not sold in Spain! In my opinion, cholcate milk does not taste as good here. Cola Cao and Nesquik are the main chocolate milk brands here and they simply do not compare.

Hasta luego,

A.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

