Posted by: amabroad | November 21, 2011

Sundays in Salamanca

 I found out where everyone goes on Sundays. Normally on Sundays, Salamanca is like a ghost town. Sunday is the day of rest. The streets are empty and no one is out. I’ve recently discovered that everyone goes to the flea market on Sundays! When my host mom asked me if I wanted to go to the mercado (market) with her this weekend, I assumed that she meant the grocery store. But instead of taking me to the grocery, she took me to this huge open lot in a part of the city that I have never been to before.

There were people everywhere. It was difficult to walk without bumping into someone. Flea markets are serious business in Spain. They sell everything imaginable, from knives and mops to shoes and costumes. Stores are closed on Sundays here, so that’s why the flea market is open. If I can’t find any souvenirs from my final two trips, I’m definitely going to go back!

Hasta luego,

A.

Leave a Reply

Categories

