Posted by: amabroad | November 18, 2011

Granada & The Alhambra

Grenada is a fun Spanish city that has Jewish and Arabic influences. I really liked that it was not full of tourists, so I was able to get a real sense of how Granada operates. The first night I was there, I went to a flamenco show! I had never seen flamenco before, so I didn’t know what to expect. My impression of flamenco is that it seems to be a very serious dance with a lot of stomping and dramatic flourishes. After the show, I went with some friends to get Chinese tapas. It felt like the best thing ever at the time, because I have had a severe craving for Chinese food since I arrived in Spain. The Chinese food here in Salamanca is hit or miss, but the Chinese tapas in Granada were excellent. I had spring rolls, shrimp, and noodles. (:

The next day I went to the Alhambra. The Alhambra was a Moorish fortress and palace that was built in the fourteenth century. It was also used as the palace for Charles V, the Holy Roman Emperor, after the Reconquista in the sixteenth century. The Alhambra was built on a hill that overlooks Granada. The view, buildings, and gardens are beautiful. It is a popular tourist attraction because of its Islamic architecture, gardens, and status as a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

 Hasta luego,

A.

Leave a Reply

Categories

