Posted by: amabroad | November 3, 2011

Morocco, Part 2

On the first day in Morocco my study abroad group visited the Medina of Fez. The Medina of Fez is this huge, sort of walled in city that is filled with stores, restaurants, homes, mosques, and outdoor markets. The ground was covered in mud and some of the buildings were made of dried mud and grass. We visited a textile shop, leathery, spice store, ceramic factory, and a Moroccan rug store. The Medina was crowded with people and was made up of the narrowest streets I’ve seen. If we didn’t have a guide, I would have definitely gotten lost. While shopping in the Medina, we had to bargain for items. That was kind of weird because I had never done that before. Back home, prices are set. I can’t ask for a lower price for an item in the United States. Bargaining was fun at first, but then it became a little exhausting going back and forth. I was able to get to bag originally at 550 dirhams for 230 dirhams (dirhams are the Moroccan currency). One euro is worth ten dirhams. One U.S. dollar is worth eight dirhams. For lunch we went to a restaurant inside the Medina and I enjoyed the best couscous I have ever had.

I have mixed feelings regarding my stay in Morocco. On one end of the emotional spectrum, I’m completely enamored. I love the architecture, landscape, music, and food. But I was also a little annoyed at constantly being haggled to make a purchase. I felt like a money piñata for a little bit, because I couldn’t walk around without being pushed to buy something. It was obvious that I was a foreigner, so I was treated differently. My group was constantly receiving stares. I have never been on a trip like Morocco. We went deep inside the country, about two hours outside of the Moroccan-Algerian border. Most of the houses and town look just like the images of Africa on the news. The people are poor. They have tiny shacks for houses or there are made out of mud. They have to grow and harvest their own food. Life in Morocco is completely different from life in the United States or Spain. Visiting Morocco was an adventure!

Hasta luego,

A.

Responses

  1. What an experience! I like the pictures of the food – it’s so you to do that. Unbelievable that you got more dirhams from your euro that the dollar. Great pics!


Leave a Reply

Categories

