Posted by: Jean-Paul Behrens | August 27, 2009

A Spartan Abroad

Hi all.

My name is Jean Paul Behrens, you can call me JP, and this fall semester I’m taking it abroad! For a small intro I’m going to tell you why I’m going abroad. You see, I’m doing the Certificate of International Studies (CIS) program offered by the International Programs Office and it requires doing at least one study term abroad. Even though technically I don’t need to, since I’m already an international student here at UT from Venezuela, I thought to myself why not take advantage? UT offered me the opportunity, and I took it. So I decided to go visit the mystical Middle East.

And now, here I am at the airport terminal in Venezuela waiting for my flight to take me to Dubai (very excited!), but get this… I’ll be travelling for 36 hours! Yeah, flight plan isn’t really that exciting, but it’s alright because I’ll be sleeping most of the time. A little trick I picked up after traveling around: NEVER sleep the night after traveling. I don’t think everyone can do it but if you’re able to its perfect. You don’t need a sleeping pill and as soon as you hit the plane seat you’re out.

Plane leaves in about an hour, and as each minute creeps into the past I don’t know if I’m more excited or nervous; I’m all shook up (Elvis!). Nonetheless, I know this experience will stay with me for the rest of my life, and no matter what I’m going all in! So sit tight because I’ll be documenting pretty much every step I take haha.

That’s it for now, enjoy. =)

Responses

  1. hmm its supposed to say "never sleep the night BEFORE traveling" haha doesn't make sense after =p


Leave a Reply

Categories

